top of page

The persons responsible for changing our Investment life

Updated: Mar 24, 2020

This is a post I have been waiting to write for a long time. This path to Financial independence started a few years ago. Along the way I changed the course here and there in what I think was for the best (most of the time at least).


The first real responsible for putting me on the path I am today was certainly my parents. They were able to pay for much of my education. Besides this they teach me the importance of savings and not to buy things you cannot afford, or at least pay for. When I bought my first car I was 18 and at the age of 22 I had the car completely payed (first mistake buying the car brand new) and is the one that i still drive today (16 years and with no intention on change to other).


After this I start to put some money on the stock markets and we were on the 2007 financial crises. Selecting stocks and buying and selling them on the same day (sometimes), then I tried forex and the story goes on (I didnt have found the persons I am going to talk next). And besides all this mistakes I was able to increase my account value (mainly because of the money I was transferring from my paycheck).


Around this time, I decide to build my home (I will write about this one of this days), although I think this was not the best option, with a 100000 € loan I was able to build a home. The rest of the money a withdraw from my investment account (I take all the money out). Probably if I knew what I know today I wouldn’t take this option, but once again that was not so bad because the loan interest came down very much and the house had appreciated in value.


I do not really know when I first heard about my biggest idol but he is certainly the person that changed my thinking about investing: Warren Buffet. Since I saw is first video it changed completely my plan about investments. He is for sure one of my pillars. I have read all the Letters he had write to Berkshire and all the videos you can find about him on Youtube. I never met him in person but for what it seems he also is a fantastic person (strange or not all the persons I am going to talk about are). His advice to his widow is the formula for the everyday investor (his advice even beats his own performance recently). Just buy the sp500 and you will perform better than most investing professionals.


My next idol passed away recently. Jack Boggle is the main responsible for turning Warren Buffet advice achievable for most of us and at a price more than fair. He invented the index investing and with this he makes it possible for all of us to mimic the market at a very low cost.


And finally (at least for now) Mr. Jlcollinsnh, I found a video of him on youtube talking at google. After this I read his entire blog. Is approach to investments and to the education he wants to pass for his daughter is an inspiration for me. I review myself on his words and he is a big advocate of the investment strategies that Warren Buffet and Jack Bogle use. If want the roadmap for success in the stock markets, I would say that you have to have luck with your parents and after that take a look on the persons I mention. My final Advice see this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T71ibcZAX3I and take a look on this blog: https://jlcollinsnh.com/stock-series/. To be clear I do not receive any commission on those.


Mr Fergus.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page